Tags

, , ,

Grandma Vivien’s meatloaf was the first meatloaf I had, and will always be the best. Smelling it in the oven brings me right back to her little Santa Barbara condo. I can almost hear the Dodger’s game on and feel the thick carpet under my kneecaps as I lay on my tummy, stacking houses out of her bridge playing cards while waiting for dinner to be ready.

Nowadays, my version is almost the same. One can’t mess with perfection, after all. I add a bit of veggies and mix in ground pork with the ground beef. But other than that, Grandma would be proud.

Grandma’s Meatloaf, Amped Up (Gluten and Dairy free)

1 lb ground beef

1 lb ground pork

1 1/2 cups oatmeal (gluten free)

2 eggs

3/4 cup tomato sauce

3/4 to 1 cup carrots, shredded with cheese grater

about 1/2 cup onion, shredded with cheese grater or minced fine

1 tea thyme

1 tea ground pepper

Mix together all ingredients with your hands. Put in greased bread loaf pan.  Cook for about one hour and 15 minutes in 350-degree oven.